What many people are experiencing due to COVID-19, and the need to find more  creative solutions, is how we Mexicans, have spend our lives for years.

Although I lost my house when the virus hit, actually it feels like nothing really changed. I build a temporary wooden place, while I keep on searching for a decent place to rent. Having this in between place, creates time and space to find something decent to rent. I need that time because where one lives, is really important. No matter how it looks, it must feel like coming home, a place to rest and find peace.  My wooden shack, of course, is not ideal but knowing its temporary keeps me going. But of course, there is also a bright side to the pandemic. Since many rich people left big cities and move into this area, it created lots of job opportunities. As a landscaper, there is work now everywhere. Every day is different and diverse. One day I am building a bathroom up on a hill, another day I am taking care a wonderful garden. Not knowing what tomorrow will bring opens up the possibility to trust and enjoy life more in the moment. And this is exactly what I learned throughout the years. My hope is, this will be a trend many more may experience, because it feels like true freedom.

Heroes01

 

Leave a comment