Finally, HEROES is back!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Initially, Heroes was launched in 2010, to pay tribute to the vulnerable but also powerful street children in Nicaragua. Later, I focused on stories about Love, Faith and Courage, documenting daily life of the “poor”.
Spending several years in Nicaragua, planted deep roots and created wonderful connections. In 2014, when the plans to build a canal through Nicaragua were revealed, I went back, collecting stories and possible consequences during these times of change. Many people protested against the plans of the Ortega Regime. The canal never became reality. Unfortunately, due to this regime, many people lost their lives, disappeared or were forced to immigrate to safer places.
My personal story in Nicaragua, ended abruptly when I got arrested and deported, while taking pictures of protests.

Being arrested and deported as a photojournalist was scary but it pushed me to relocate to New York, where I started a new life, made friends and even received a Master Degree.

Often, crises have the ability to push our limits and shift things for the better.
Due to the corona virus, we globally face challenging times. But instead of focusing on the negative side of the story, I prefer to shine a light on the bright side.
So, what positive changes brought COVID-19 to you?

Leave a comment